Exotic Fruits

Well, it has been awhile. I’ve been sick and I also am taking an online writing course, so I haven’t been blogging. But I’m back.

A lot has happened since I’ve blogged last, but I will keep this re-entry post short. One day Matt brought home a bunch of fruits we had never eaten before. It was really fun to try something new.

We tried a custard apple, which I enjoyed. You eat it with a spoon and spit out the seeds. It reminds me of mushy pear, but better (see photo below, on the right).

Then we tried Lychee, which is hard to explain. You cut off the top of the rough outer part and squeeze it out. There is a good sized pit, so you just kind of suck on it and spit out the pit. They are pretty good, they are citrus-y tasting.We also tried Dragon Fruit, which reminded me a little of Kiwi, but more bland tasting and much larger. I’m not a huge fan, but I’d try it again.

We also tried Mangosteen, which is like Lychee, with the white stuff and the pit. It was pretty good.

Back home we eat mangos a fair amount, but we’ve totally chowed on them here. SO terrific! Probably my favorite tropical fruit, next to the mango is Papaya. I never eat papaya back at home. It reminds me of cantaloupe, it is pretty mild and sweet. For breakfast, I tend to eat plain yogurt with fruit and nuts. My newest concoction is papaya and pomegranate seeds. Yum!

I bet we can find some of these fruits in the US, I just have to look for them. I’m looking forward to adding more tropical fruits to my diet when I return. I hope you’ve enjoyed this taste of India.

One thought on “Exotic Fruits

  1. Helen I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. I pray you are better now.. and getting stronger. I have to say some of those fruits look pretty weird!! Like Alien weird, you know? I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to try them. Stay well, K? What online class are you taking?

Leave a Reply

